Comfort Zones and personal growth

I have a pretty sweet gig. I have 3 businesses that I run from home. I’m at a stage in my life where I have a lot of freedom to choose my comforts. I can choose where and when to work, how to work, and even who I work with and for. I live in a sub-tropical climate that never sees snow. I am blessed with a fast metabolism which means I can eat pretty much whatever I want (with a dose of moderation). I can dictate my schedule to a good degree and can avoid talking to people for days at a time.

The problem with all this, you see, is that I noticed the more comfortable I get, the more fearful I’ve become. Things that are outside of my comfort zone are making me hyperventilate or stop breathing altogether. My claustrophobia has reached ridiculous heights, and the thought of making a phone call to a current or potential client paralyzes me. When we traveled a few weeks ago, I was afraid of the plane, the car, the steep hills, etc etc etc.

THIS IS NOT ME!

I like to try new things, learn new things, explore, learn about different people, learn about the world. I love traveling and world cultures. I value intellect, courage, and kindness. Being stuck in a comfort zone and being afraid to get out of it, to me, is dangerously close to being close-minded, and I consider close-mindedness to be an awful, sad thing to avoid like the plague.

We need challenges to grow as people. We need to get out of our comfort zones and try something new.  We need do things that make us uncomfortable, do things we’ve never done before, and have the courage and discipline to not only say we will, but to see these things through.

This is how we grow. This is how we become courageous and a badass. So I say to myself: Self…! Go GET IT!

Author: Soulrebel

You say "feminist" like it's a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

