Running for Charity

Running Living for charity

I have a dream of someday running a 5k for a charity. I realize that knowing the final purpose or destination forms an integral part of realizing any goal. But in this case, it really doesn’t matter.

There are so many charities and causes to support. It dawned on me that perhaps my purpose in life is to stand up for those who are less fortunate. My mother always said I ought to become a civil lawyer. “The voice of the people”, she used to say to me every time I went off defending someone, rolling her eyes.

I just can’t forget how it feels to watch injustice happen. Maybe I didn’t always understand why things happened, but I knew they felt wrong.

When I was about 7 or 8, my family and I were eating at a KFC in Puerto Rico. A woman who was very visibly ill waddled in with great difficulty to ask for scraps that she could eat. The manager called her names and threw her out. I don’t remember what he said to her, but I know it was mean, and I felt so bad for that woman, especially because her face looked so sad. Maybe she was pretending… but I really don’t think so, even now. There was something very wrong with her legs; it wasn’t something that could be easily dismissed by drug use or poor life choices. I believe she truly was sick, down, and out.

I also cannot forget how the marginalized indigenous people in Mexico City were treated like something less than human, living on the streets and begging for charity, looked down upon by almost everyone around them. I saw many children my own age begging for bread and nickels. They were kept poor and uneducated based on their heritage, plain and simple.

It’s easy to dismiss these realities when you’re living in America. These situations seem so distant and so foreign to our privileged existence. But the reason they don’t happen here (as much, or as pronounced at least) is precisely  because American people have continuously fought for civil rights, liberties, and tolerance in this country. Our government and our people came up with solutions and systems that can be used to help  unfortunate people and circumstances, flawed as those systems may be. Without these fights for what is right, we would be far less developed and evolved as a society than we are today.

That’s why I have such strong left-wing political and social leanings. If wishing to protect the vulnerable and defending human and civil rights make me a Liberal, then I am VERY proud to be one. And no amount of boisterous loudmouthed promises of economic reform are going to change that.

Author: Soulrebel

You say "feminist" like it's a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

