The gist of it

Today, an unqualified narcissist is taking office at the highest seat in the United States, making him one of the most powerful people in the world.

I’ve been told by a lot of well-meaning people to give him a chance. This is coming from people I love and trust.

And that’s where it gets really weird for me.

Throughout this campaign/election fiasco, I watched that man. I wanted to see what it is that his supporters saw. I went in with an open mind, because that’s what I do- I hear both sides. I am a Libra, after all. That’s what we do. And the things I heard coming from this man’s mouth and the way he delivered his words made some things very clear to me.

This man expressed disrespect for women on more than one occasion. He obviously does not like Mexicans, and I know from experience that “Mexicans” means all Latinos to most white Americans. He does not think highly of Latinos.

I happen to be a woman, and a Latina.

If you know me, and you think a sexist and racist is the greatest thing that’s happened to this country…. I can’t help but feel a bit of a disconnect. Like you’re not completely, really on my side. You can acknowledge that this person looks down on certain kind of people, and know that your spouse is one of those people, and still think he’s great… it’s a very weird thing for me to process (alternatively, if the case is you don’t believe he really feels this way… I really would just scratch my head, because you either didn’t really educate yourself or you have a very particular sense of perception).

Also, since I am not a Republican, I care about the wellbeing of others around me who are even more marginalized, and I cannot help but cringe at the way I’ve seen this man treat and talk to others. There are many, and I do mean MANY other reasons I think he’s unfit for the job, but we’ll leave it right here.

The people who have followed this man have watched him conduct himself in a way befitting a high school jerk, and they still think he’s just the bestest. I am going to leave my husband out of this group, but to the rest of his staunch supporters: if you can watch him make fun of people’s disabilities, disrespect POWs, threaten free press, constantly whine on Twitter, treat women -including his own daughter- like meat, and still think he’s awesome…. I really, honestly, wonder what is going on with your morals, and I don’t care to know you at all.

Author: Soulrebel

You say "feminist" like it's a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

